NCAA Guide for College Bound Athletes

How to Use this Guide

The Guide addresses issues for three important groups of readers:

  • High school students who hope to participate in college athletics at an NCAA college or university;
  • Parents and legal guardians
  • High school counselors and athletics administrators.

2010-2011 Guide for the College-Bound Student-Athlete

What is the NCAA?

The NCAA, or National Collegiate Athletic Association, was established in 1906 and serves as the athletics governing body for more than 1,300 colleges, universities, conferences and organizations. The national office is in Indianapolis, but the member colleges and universities develop the rules and guidelines for athletics eligibility and athletics competition for each of the three NCAA divisions. The NCAA is committed to the student athlete and to governing competition in a fair, safe, inclusive and sportsmanlike manner. The NCAA membership includes:

  • 335 active Division I members
  • 288 active Division II members
  • 432 active Division III members.

One of the differences among the three divisions is that colleges
and universities in Divisions I and II may offer athletics scholarships,
while Division III colleges and universities may not.


Click here to view and/or download the full 2010-11 Guide for the College-Bound Student-Athlete